Comfort food –

Flavours from my youth,

Tonight I had

Peasant Sausage

Tomato compote

White Polenta

That makes it sound more expensive than

Boerewors

Tamatie sous

Pap/Sadza

The sadza, and the folks I grew up with would laught at me, was not as stiff as it should be. Leftover sadza (polenta) was allowed to cool on a tray for polenta chips for tomorrow’s lunch. This idea was sourced from Judy Rodgers’ “the Zuni Cafe cookbook.”

Boerewors is that strange sausage that Australians get used to seeing in places where Southern Africans have settled. 

Notes on the Boerewors

The boerewors is local from Paynes Butchery. I baked it on a scanpan instead of my usual in a cast iron frying pan on the stove top.

I ran low on olive oil so more butter was used on the tomato sauce. All vegetables were purchased at the local markets.

    Leftovers

The leftovers were enjoyed over the following 2 days. The Tomato sauce was varied with addition of feta cheese and almonds.

One Response

  1. I love a world in which prefixing the word “peasant” to a food name actually makes it sound more expensive. 🙂

    PS I love boerewors, although I don’t like looking at it cook. Enough fat for a dozen heart attacks in one of those big fellas.

Leave a Reply

